Google Maps makes it easy to keep track of where you are, and where you want to go, but sharing your location has never been the most up-to-date process.
That is changing now, with an update to the service rolling out across Android, iOS, the mobile web, and even the desktop app. Google has announced that beginning today, and rolling out worldwide soon, Google Maps users will be able to share their location in real-time with selected contacts.
To make it work, users simply need to open the side menu, or tap on the blue icon that represents their location, and then hit the “Share Location” option. From there, the user will select which contacts they want to share their location with, and then go about their business. The contacts they chose will be able to use the aforementioned platforms to keep track of the user’s location in real-time.
Users will be able to cancel sharing their location at any time, and they can also set a specific amount of time to share their location. When sharing your location, an icon will appear above the compass.
In addition to that, users will also be able to share their trip with selected users. Users will be able to see where your trip is taking you, and when you’re expected to arrive. When you do arrive, the sharing function will stop automatically.
The feature begins rolling out worldwide soon.[via Google Blog]